Skip to content

Yummy Homemade Granola Bars

April 12, 2010

I made this recipe the other night so I would have it for the upcoming work week as a snack or for part of my meal with some yogurt. Well, we had a big cook-out on Friday night since James came home. We had a ton of friends and family over. I put my container of granola bars (which I had made Friday morning) away, not even thinking somebody would see them and want them. Well, one of my friends asked what they were and wanted to tasted them. She loved them, and then the CRAZE hit! My granola bars were completely gone! So, I guess they were good. They were actually gone before the cheescake was eaten! I’m happy that our friends and family choose to eat the healthier treats!

I’m going to try adding some protein powder in them this week & I’ll add the changes to the recipe!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups old-fashioned oatmeal

  • 1 cup chopped almonds (I use chopped, but you can use sliced)

  • 1 cup shredded coconut, loosely packed

  • 1/2 cup flax seed meal (or toasted wheat germ)

  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter

  • 2/3 cup agave nectar (or you can use 1/3 c agave + 1/3 c maple syrup)

  • 1 1/2 tsp tsp pure vanilla extract

  • 1 1/2 cups dried fruit (I used raisins + cranberries)

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Farenheit. Line a 9 x 13 inch baking dish with parchement paper.

Toss the oatmeal, almonds, and cocnut together on a sheet pan and bake for 10 – 12 minutes, stirring occasionally, until lightly browned. Transfer the mixture to a large mixing bowl and stir in the flax seed meal.

Reduce the oven temperature to 300 degrees Farenheit.

Place the butter, honey, maple syrup and vanilla in a small saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat. Cook and stir for a minute, then pour over the toated oatmeal mixture. Add the dried fruit and mix well.

Pour the mixture into the prepared pan. Wet your fingers and lightly press the mixture evenly into the pan. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until light golden brown. Cool for at least 2 – 3 hours before cutting into squares.

Place in an air tight container!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 11, 2010 4:16 am

    I’m making these this week. They sound soooo good. Thanks for posting! You are becoming quite the chef!

Leave a Reply

